The Church of St. Ilija is located on the road E661 leading from Banja Luka to Jajce and Mrkonjić Grad. The church is located on necropolises with stećak tombstones, including two decorated with crosses, rosettes and crescent, carved in a high relief. Above the church, on the rocks over the Vrbas canyon, there are the remains of the medieval fortress from the ridge of the city. As the ridge is mentioned in the sources at the end of the 12th century, it is possible that at the time, the Bogomolje was built under it. In the 15th century Feudals from the Vojsalić family, the heirs of Hrvoja Vukčić Hrvatinić, were worried about the renovation of the monastery under the ridge city. The monastery relaxed 1527-1528. years, when both Jajce and Reef city fell into the hands of the Turks. Anonymous Austrian spy is between 1718-1739. He recorded that the Veliko Krupo village was located along the village of the Potok and the village of Krupa. The Church of St. Ilija in Krupa on Vrbas renovated the Metropolitan Sava Kosanović, who in the description of the Church says that its walls are preserved to a height above two meters high, narrow windows with stone frames. "The doorways from the western and southern doors, as well as a single board from the church with the inscription" says Kosanović "took the Turks and used the masonry". Along the north side of the church, according to Metropolit's description, was raised spacious flies with vaulted windows and stone cloisters. The door was connected to the church with a tray, and south of it was a basement and three more buildings. The church is in 1889 prep he and she was a gifted bell tower.  In 1941, the Ustashas set fire to the church. The recently renovated Church of St. Ilija in Krupa on Vrbas is a single-nave basilica with a semicircular apse. This form of the altar received in the renovation in 1889. Archaeological excavations found traces of the older sanctuary of a rectangular basis. A large number of grave burials without attachments are discovered in the church, whose position indicates the possibility that the cemetery is older than the Church. Two masonry tombs are on the remains of a rectangular altar. Along the north side of the church are the foundations of the complex of facilities - Konak and economic buildings. At the church of a masonry stone and covered with a flat ceiling, there is no facade decoration today, but the fragments of a broken port, probably from an apsidal window, in a circulatory "diamond strip" with a few fragments of profiled door jamb and drivers, architrant or architrant or architrant or architrate. Fragments of painted mortar were found in the country next to the church, which are older than 1527-1528. Year after which this temple was neglected, and they are assessed that under the age of 1447, when, according to written sources, the renovation of the Church in the Reef was performed. A small number of colors - blue, ocher and red used. The fragments are small areas, with a scratched contour of the geometric ornament, and the eye is painted on one fragment. The Church of St. Ilija in Krupa on Vrbas is just one of the motives you can visit in this beautiful place, between the two Vrbas gorges.

  • Comments are closed.